Tuesday, 7 March 2017

Failed the PMP Exam? What now?

What is the best way NOT to fail? Refer the PMBOK® Guide at least twice, have a sound study plan while also taking a lot of sample tests. We recommend that you also use a good PMP preparation workbook or an audio seminar.

The PMP® Exam is not to be taken easy. The PMP® Exam is a 4 hour, 200 question multiple choice exam. You will have to answer 106 correctly out of these 200 questions in order to pass. However, some fail. Yet, knowing that it happens.. is no consolation if the person who failed is you. FINE...so you have failed...what now?

Let's start from the beginning. After the exam you will receive a score report that doesn't just show that you have failed, it ALSO gives you an indication about your proficiency level for each of the performance domains. These are the 3 possible levels: Proficient, Moderately Proficient and Below Proficient. Each of the domains contain a different number of questions on the exam and you can now see your proficiency level in each of these domains. This report is very important for you because you now know where you were not proficient and focus better before your next attempt.

After reviewing your score, if you believe that there was a mistake you can always challenge the result. The PMP credential program is supervised and administered by the manager of PMI’s Certification Program. The challenges are governed by the comprehensive and exclusive rules of the PMI Certification Governance Council’s Certification Appeal Procedures (CGC). This appeal process is the only method to review all decisions made by the PMI Certification Program Department with regard to applications, eligibility, examinations, test administration, results and other application or testing-related certification issues. You may challenge your result by downloading the appeals procedure from the PMI website and submitting your appeal.

However, the best option is to retake the exam. No worries, If you have not passed the exam on your first attempt you may now appear for the exam two more times within your one-year eligibility period by submitting a completed re-examination form and paying the associated re-examination fee (currently $275 for PMI members). We highly recommend that you register for the exam immediately and give yourself about one month time to review all your study materials. During this time your focus should be on two primary areas:

1.      Focus on those performance domains in which you did not receive a proficient score. Those are your problem areas and consequentially those are the ones you should be working on priority.

2.      Sign up for an online exam simulator. While this may cost you some extra money, this not the time to try and go for something cheap. Now is the time to practice your exam strategy/game plan. As an example: Before any big tournament or say the Olympics every athlete will be practicing their sport for several hours each day. Well, your "GAME" is taking the PMP exam. So practice as much as you possibly can and the best way to do this is through an online exam simulator.

Well!! Worst case scenario…  you fail a second and then a third time then you will have to wait one year from the date of your last test before re-applying and attempting the exam again. If your 1year eligibility period expires without passing the examination you must apply again for the credential. Re-examination application can be filed online or on paper.

For more info/guidance. Please contact us

Email: info@global-teq.com
Phone: +1-214-227-6396

Follow us: 

No comments:

Post a Comment